3DCoat Forums

New to 3dCoat

hotgreenchilli

Hello,

I am new to 3dCoat, so please excuse me if some of my questions are from a novice user. My goal is to use 3dcoat to modify jewelry designs built in SolidWorks. For now, I have been focused on learning the voxels tool set. I have leaned to import stl files, move them using the the Adjust tools (pose and transpose tools) merge designs, and use the mask features. I will need some more time in grade before I feel like I have truly mastered the pen tools, but from what I can do already, I really like what I can do with 3DCoat.

I may not currently have the best computer for 3dCoat, but an upgrade is in the future.

I am learning to use the object tools (curve,snake,spikes) with the spline option. I was able to create a spline profile and use it with these tools. I do have a couple of questions regarding the spline tool. What are the rules for creating a spline? I have found that the y-axis is the direction of growth, but what controls the zero angle location? How do I create a spline profile so that a side of the spline is always in contact with a surface? What controls the placement of the spline on the surface?

I can trace a Snake curve without smoothing by setting the smoothing rate to zero. Is there a way to smooth the curve the end of the trace (i.e. adjust the smoothing rate after I trace the curve)?

Thanks,

Steve

• 2 weeks later...

I am learning to use the object tools (curve,snake,spikes) with the spline option. I was able to create a spline profile and use it with these tools. I do have a couple of questions regarding the spline tool. What are the rules for creating a spline? I have found that the y-axis is the direction of growth, but what controls the zero angle location? How do I create a spline profile so that a side of the spline is always in contact with a surface? What controls the placement of the spline on the surface?