3DCoat Forums

Spike Runner game...export PBR to vray

zFarm

Hey.. wow so i downloaded the new 4.5 demo. I haven't use 3d coat so this is my first attempt. I built the bike in max but did all the painting in 3dc. I've been painting textures professionally for yrs... I started as a full time tex artist on Shrek2 and have used just about every software in the industry. Once I started getting the paint on the engines I was sold!! This is for a VR game Im pitching called Spike runner. Basic Star Wars universe game. You're on the edge of a forgotten planet just trying to scrape out a living as a bounty hunter when you fall into a conspiracy/mystery much bigger that you could imagine. 

Anyway.. Im trying to export this out to 3dsmax and vray and was wondering if anyone knows how to set that up.. that way I can put it back together. 

spike_01.jpg

• Like 4

• Contributor

Really like your work , well done.

I am working at 3 dk2  vr experiences at the moment and i am telling you this will look AAA on VR.

For 3ds max and vray you need to take the gloss / color specular road.

So , its Textures , Textures Import / Export workflow and select  gloss / color specular.

• Contributor

Very nice job with the textures and the model!

Just keep your eyes peeled for those blasted Ewoks. :)

For 3ds max and vray you need to take the gloss / color specular road.

Same thing with vanilla version of Mantra Surface Shader. It would seem that path-tracers are biased towards this particular PBR workflow. ;) Edited by ajz3d
  • Like 1

Thanks guys for the feedback.!! .. I'm still kind of new to this part of setting up shaders. Hmm ..not quite setting this up right. I exported all the maps to begin with

color,

curvature,

metalness,

normal,

roughness.. couldn't find a suitable vray or mental ray material. 

then took your advice and just output

gloss,

rough,

normal

color