3DCoat Forums

Export With UV Mapping

EricM

I'm a NURBS modeler.  I am a complete noob when it comes to meshes.  

This is my existing workflow:

--Model in Rhino

--Bring obj file into 3DCoat for voxelizing.

----fix boolean issues with voxel volumes

----smooth all to relax sharp edges giving them a slight bevel

Works great.  I'm trying to take my Maxwell renders to the next level by adding microscopic scratches in high polished areas.  I'm going to set the roughness to a texture map that contains faint scratches.  The problem is I can't get the UV map to export from 3D Coat.  Here's the problem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHnQZe2x9fQ

• Advanced Member

The way you are doing things currently you are exporting two entirely unrelated meshes.

The first one is a low poly version of the object in the Voxel workspace, derived through manual or automatic meshing operation (Autopo or manual Retopo).

If you are exporting this mesh you'll get the UV's you had assigned to that mesh. Note that there's no scale issue - 3DCoat and Maxwell simply use Checker patterns of different size.

When you choose the second export option 3DC exports the surface mesh (it at least in Voxel mode equals the Rhino render mesh) of the object int the Voxel room.

As the surface mesh may be very dense you may reduce its resolution with a slider. The result however will always be a triangulated mesh without UV's. This second exporter may get

used for 3D printing or for shuffling Hi Res geo over to other digital sculpting apps.

What you rather should do is an Auto Retopology with higher polycount target or manually create a denser retopo mesh. You can also use the subdivide function inside Retopo room.

Then you'll get the HiRes version which will export with UV's.

Maxwell V3 will allow you to import the low polygon cages and to subdivide them at rendertime. This however will - as is - only work with geometry as simple as your sample, for anything