3DCoat Forums

UI responsiveness

Hello all -

I have been using 3DCoat for a few years now (as a matter of fact, checking my purchase history tells me that I started using it in ... 2009 !). Until now my main use for it has been projection painting between 3DC and Photoshop, and it has been working great for that purpose all these years.

However I am now finding myself using voxel modeling more, and while I am delighted by all the fantastic tools that have been progressively added to the sculpt room I cannot help but notice some issues with the UI responsiveness. As a matter of fact I think I remember running into these problems all the way back to older versions of the program.

It's a little hard to explain. Basically these issues mostly occur when "power using" the program, that is to say, interacting with the UI very fast. I keep experiencing missed clicks and overall odd menu behavior. This is especially obvious when compared to native Windows programs.

Here is a video to illustrate the issue, comparing the behaviour of the 3D-Coat UI to Notepad :

The two main things I notice are :

- Dropdown menus disappear when the mouse cursor is not over them, whereas the default Windows behaviour is for them to stay open until the user actively closes them by clickout out of them.

- After opening a dropdown menu and pointing to other ones, these do not open until the users slows down the the cursor speed under a certain limit, whereas the default Windows behavior is to open other dropdowns instantly, regardless of cursor speed.