3DCoat Forums

Boat wakes and splashes ...

marco

Hello ...

I am new to 3d-coat, but I have been using Vue Infinite for a while.

I assume most people know that the Vue 3d landscaping program exists, if not, take a look here ...

http://www.e-onsoftware.com/products/vue/vue_2015_infinite/

The program has a road spline tool that allows you to draw roads on a land surface, but unfortunately, there is no similar tool to draw boat wakes and splashes on the water.

There are expensive commercial Flow programs and plugins that can simulate wakes and splashes for animations. And there is of course the good old, free and open source, Blender, capable of ocean and fluid animations.

I have been trying to figure this out in Blender for a while, but I only want to deal with still images. It's quite a learning curve, and you need a lot of computer power, to get some results with flow animations.

My question for those who have been working with voxels (for more than a couple of days) ... do you think it's possible to sculpt boat wakes, splashes and wave sprays, for a single image render?

Sculpting the waves is seemingly well possible, ... but making splashes by painting voxel particles in the air with a brush, can that be done ???

Thanks a lot for your idea's.

Edited by marco

• Contributor

There was an artist who did a series of ww2 navy ships with much of what you are wanting but a search of gallery images did not show his work, Maybe someone on the forum knows his name but the forum page where his work was shown is long gone.

• Contributor

Tony I think you are referring to the concept artist Jama Jurabaev. He made some boat and waves images in this thread here:

http://3dcoat.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=17336&page=3#entry122496