3DCoat Forums

All those brushes!

lewis2e

Hi

One of the things I love about 3D Coat is that it has so many different sculpting tools. However, one of the things I hate about 3D Coat is that it has so many different sculpting tools...

Maybe it is just because my background is with Blender (which has only a few brushes), however, as a (relatively) new user of 3D Coat, I struggle a lot trying to get a good idea in my head of what different brushes are available and what they do and what makes each of them different. I don't think the description you get of the brushes when you hover over them is that helpful... they all sound like the same thing.

Don't get me wrong, some are quite obvious (crease, flatten, scratches etc.). Others, however, seem like the same thing with only slight tweaks. For example I have no idea how gum is supposed to be different form extrude, how airbrush is different from build or grow... or clay!. In terms of Live Clay, I have no idea what "General Clay" is, or why it differs from plain old Clay. I don't know what the difference between Liveclay build, extrude or inflate is... I could go on (please note I do understand the concept of Liveclay and how it differs to regular surface sculpting and voxel sculpting).

I am the kind of person that likes to have in my head what tools I have available and how they differ. At the moment, I feel like I am lost in a sea of options. I feel like I have a lot of powerful tools at my disposal for sculpting, but no real overview of them.

Does anyone else have this issue?

Edited by lewis2e

Lewis:

You have hit the nail on the head.  There is no need to have so many tools.  Rather, there should be a handful of tools - each of which can perform many different functions - simply based on how you "wield" them.  The "Move" Tool is a great example of multi-functionality in a single "Brush".  Having fewer tools also immediately unclutters the workspace.