3DCoat Forums

[Solved] Smart Materials using both Displacement AND Normal texture maps

Shift Studio

In many purchased / downloaded texture sets, both displacement maps and normal maps are included, and the smart material doesn't look right if one of the two isn't used.

Unfortunately, I'm new to building smart materials and can't figure out how to do it. The best I've come up with is making first layer with displacement map, and another layer with only one channel, plugging in the normal map. For the 2nd layer described, I increased its intensity to 200% and lowered its opacity to 20%. Thats not right and doesn't look too great either.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

--Shift Studio.

Thanks Carlosan.

I had watched those videos just yesterday looking for an answer to my question.

I did learn a thing or two. Specifically I had never noticed the feature/option 'View/Show Displaced Mesh'. Its definitely a step in the direction I want.

But ... unfortunately, I still don't know how to use a displacement map and a normal map together in the same smart material. Is it clear what I'm after?

Thanks for any further insights.

--shift studio.

Edited by Shift Studio

5 hours ago, Carlosan said:

What if you add a new layer in the same smart material ?

@Carlosan. 

Right - thats exactly what I tried to do (see first post). The problem is, the material only gets height from one of the layers (the one on top in the material editor). The only way around it that I have found is to lower the opacity of the top layer. Unfortunately that makes neither layer's height full strength. Is there a way to get height from both texture maps? Here is a link to one of the materials I've been testing with >> https://freepbr.com/materials/worn-out-old-brick-wall-pbr-material/

Any ideas?

Thanks for sharing your time and knowledge!

--shift studio.

Thanks Carlosan and Tony.

I'm finding I can do an okay (not great) job mixing the two height maps using opacity.