3DCoat Forums

Retopo Room - Next Steps

Dear friends!

I am a developer and have been working at 3DCoat for a year now, and have 20 years of experience in developing 3D-CAD.
Andrew told me, that I needed to work on the Retopo room with love.
We need to make excellent tools so that the work gives you only pleasure and satisfaction.
I want to hear your advice.

• Like 5

• Applink Developer

This is great news. Welcome Gorbatovsky. Luckily here I can only write your name and not pronounce it :) 

I think that right now there is just too much tools for small jobs in retopo room. I think that tools like SELECT and BRUSH should be combined and they should be build into that room that there is 
no need to create separate tool for them. I like how Maya is using CTRL + SHIFT + ALT keys to change the different modes. 

Edited by haikalle

22 minutes ago, haikalle said:

This is great news. Welcome Gorbatovsky. Luckily here I can only write your name and not pronounce it :) 

I think that right now there is just too much tools for small jobs in retopo room. I think that tools like SELECT and BRUSH should be combined and they should be build into that room that there is 
no need to create separate tool for them. I like how Maya is using CTRL + SHIFT + ALT keys to change the different modes. 

Thank you, haikalle

My name is Alex.

I forgot to write that I already made some new tools.
InSet, Bridge, Splite Edge, Improve Bevel.

• Like 2

• Advanced Member

Pretty cool!

Retopo is probably my most used room in 3dc. I have no feature requests, but instead would like to see some refinements, like those times that the Points and Faces tool just fails to recognise that a polygon can be created, or symmetry breaking at random, or symmetry really messing with the UV's (not sure if you're working on any of the UV tools in the retopo room?).