3DCoat Forums

How to draw anime backgrounds in 3D space with 3DCoat by nyorock

Carlosan

Source...

In this article, I would like to introduce mainly "How to draw anime backgrounds in 3D space with 3DCoat"
rather than "What is 3DCoat?" Specifically, it will be a simple making article of what I introduced in the tweet below. The method is still in the process of trial and error, but I would appreciate it if you could get interested in 3DCoat and animation background style expressions, saying, "You can do this with this tool."

1660475652123-mMg2pioMHF.webp

Using 3DCoat, I tried to create an anime background style expression like this

Introduction of the creation process

3DCoat is a very versatile and highly functional tool, but it seems to be a tool that is not widely known because there is little information in Japanese. It's a tool with a somewhat unique feel, and I see it being said to be a difficult tool to master.

I've been using 3DCoat for about 10 years, but I still don't fully understand how to use it. However, it is a tool with a mysterious charm, and I have the impression that there are many people who are trying to master it. I am also obsessed with its charm, and I am doing trial and error to see if I can make good use of it even though I do not understand it.
Under such circumstances, I would like to introduce the unique functions that I verified this time.
In the following, we will introduce the functions used along the flow of the creation process of the verification example.

Preliminary work

1660475925624-0wLaRCLzYT.webp

This is the start screen that appears when you start 3D Coat. It seems that it can be used in various ways depending on the application. This time, we will do "Voxel sculpting".

1660475933124-Ulnbu3Fne5.webp

I'll start with an empty state for now.

1660475948484-z2sNHdb270.webp

This is the work screen of 3DCoat. Basic UI for voxel sculpting.

Voxel tool

1660475962967-V8LumgtqtZ.webp