3DCoat Forums

How to create a brush for 3Dcoat

ALF

Question

Dear 3Dcoat,

I read https://3dcoat.com/documentation/manual/brush-components/brushes/create-brushes-decals/ , but still a bit confused on a lot of details on creating a brush for 3Dcoat.

Some specific questions

1. What file format does 3Dcoat use for it's brushes (e.g. psd, tif, png????) Color depth, resolution(image size), etc......

2. How should the file be structured? (Four layers? All layers have alpha? What the difference between Erase Mask and alpha?)

3. How do I actually import the created brush into 3Dcoat? Do I place it somewhere, or do I use a "import" menu item or something totally different?

Great piece of software, but only if I could make the most of it. Really don't have much time to search around all day in the forum, and decide which one to trust and which one to just ignore.

Thx for help

Alf

4 answers to this question

Good, but it too far down the road. I am just starting out.

So my question is really basic.

What will someone do if they want to create a brush to use in 3DCoat with max. resolution and color-depth. In other word, a brush that would give very fine details.

1. What would someone use to create the file(s). Well, I am low on budget, so gimp, krita, etc..... Whichever one is least complicated, in other words, you don't have to do lots of steps to get thing to work properly in 3Dcoat.

2. Within the software that is used to created the fiile(s) for brushes creation. Some details on what kind of files is needed and the structure of those files.

• Do I use layers
  • Do I use channels

3. After creating those files, how do I actually bring it in to 3Dcoat. Used import menu item in 3DCoat, or just move those file(s) to certain folder(s), and 3Dcoat would load it when it starts up.

I know there must be some post somewhere that someone had ask the exact same question as this one. Just don't know which one has the correct and most up to date information.