3DCoat Forums

Bug report - drawing with vertex lines stroke

Hello,

It's my first post here, and I don't even remember the last time when I was using forums, so I hope that I didn't mess anything up.

But let's get straight to the point. I'm already using 3DCoat for quite some time, as I work as a 3D artist, and there is an issue that I'm dealing with since the very beginning of my adventure with this software.

It's related to vertex lines stroke mode in the paint room. A brief description would be that there is some kind of 'ghost data' being stored (or not) on the texture that does not work well when you change brush stroke or tool (e.g. for an eraser).

This bug is quite easy to reproduce. Here are the steps:

1. Drop paint mesh into your paint room or add primitive mesh in retopo room (e.g. 2D plane) and then bake it for per-pixel painting.
  2. Create a new layer or use the existing one - it does not matter.
  3. Select the brush tool.
  4. Press E and select vertex lines stroke.
  5. Select brush alpha falloff e.g. radial or conical, just something different from a constant falloff.
  6. Draw a line - it does not matter if you use depth, glossiness, and color or just one of the channels.
  7. Now switch to the eraser tool or disable the depth channel and erase part of the drawn line with CTRL. 
  8. You should notice that an eraser seems to 'not care' about the falloff of your brush alpha. Ouch!

To be honest, I've tried multiple workarounds like changing brush options, global software preferences, 3DCoat versions, or even OS and hardware configuration and drivers. This glitch is still there and it's not related to any eraser settings, falloffs, etc.