3DCoat Forums

importing multiple meshes for retopology

Lawless

Hello,

I am new to 3DCoat, but I love the retopology tools.

I usually open 3DCoat and under the first column I choose the folder option, and open an .obj. Then I grab the white box within the transform and drag to scale my mesh (larger) so I can see it. Then I go into the retopology room and experiment. Now I am comfortable enough to know I want to use 3DCoat for retopology before other programs.

I need the vox tree to create more complex topology. I have a body, a head, and a set of eyes that I have exported from Zbrush as three .obj files. How exactly do I import these into 3DCoat so they are in the vox tree? The way I am used to scales these out of proportion to each other. I need them to come in at a uniform size.

And lastly, this should be explained in the help manual a little better (if at all?). I have done a search on 'multiple meshes' and got nothing. I have read 'getting started' in the help manual with no luck. The start up screen does not explain things in a simple way.

Thanks in advance!

Brandon

• Contributor

Okay, no help.

Well after working for a while I figured it out myself.

I suppose I stumbled on a huge secret - so I'll keep it to myself like everyone else :)

I guess everyone went playing outside today,usually answers come within a day...

I dont know the answer either but I would have imported .obj "as reference mesh" instead of voxels if it is just for retopo.And object is not above 3 million polys.

No need to scale anything up.You can Hide/unhide unconnected parts with on click using Hide tool in Paint room. :)

I guess everyone went playing outside today,usually answers come within a day...

I dont know the answer either but I would have imported .obj "as reference mesh" instead of voxels if it is just for retopo.And object is not above 3 million polys.

No need to scale anything up.You can Hide/unhide unconnected parts with on click using Hide tool in Paint room. :)