3DCoat Forums

complete newbie wanting help for specific jewellery project

hey guys

I need some help - I am a complete newbie to 3D coat, or any non nurbs 3d modelling software really. Currently use rhino to make and print my master models for my jewellery designs but myself and a bunch of other jewellers have started using 3D coat for a very specific purpose - that is, to bring our models in as OBJ and 'soften' them with smooth all command, autopo then bring back to rhino for rendering purposes. Some of us are running into trouble with very large/complex jewellery models (think a ring with heaps of holes and prongs for tiny diamonds), being able to smooth the hard edges a bit but not loose detail.

I would also like to 'flow'' a design over a ring band for example taking a swirly leafy pattern with lots of highs and lows that define branches, leaf veins, and leaves and getting it to wrap around the surface of a ring.

Can someone pretty please help me either with step by step instructions or a video tut for these two specific problems? Remember I am a complete newbie so hotkeys and some words go right over my head.

Free virtual cake for whoever can help me! <3 :-) 

I just can't get it to smooth but retain enough detail plus be a small enough mesh that won't crash rhino. 

P.S. All I am doing is taking obj, scaling up to about 1.8mil polys clicking smooth all two or three times, saving out without additional smoothing or reduction, autopo with intermediate resolution at 180 and have tried polycounts of 50,000 or 100,000 and 150,000 even 200,000 but this model still comes up looking crap. what am I doing wrong?

Have you tried applying a "gold" (or other) matcap shader to your voxel sculpt and just rendering in 3D-Coat?  With the right lighting setup - the renders can be quite nice.