3DCoat Forums

Out of memory crash/export/import/AO bake

Hello,

I have been using 3d coat for a couple of years now and I am currently looking into integrating it as part of our pipeline for asset authoring.

I am running into issues while working on dense meshes in 3d coat.

Specifically anything that has to do with a mesh that is over 29 million triangles.

So I have been wondering if I am running into a bug/software limitation or hardware limitation.

- Importing a model with 15 million polygons (30 million triangles) leads to an out of memory crash.

- Exporting a model with over 30 million triangles also leads to an out of memory crash

- Rendering Ambient occlusion doesn't work at these resolution neither.

As far as I am concerned in terms of hardware, I am currently equipped with 64gb of dedicated RAM, Intel i7 cpu and an Nvidia 780 GTX with 6gb memory and running windows 7 64bit enterprise.

I have tried multiple solutions to get over this problem without any success.

These include :

- Trying multiple version of 3d coat including the latest beta and also official release versions in 64bit.

- Tried doing the same operations in other versions of 3d coat (OpenGL/DX with and without CUDA)

- Checked the free resources that 3d coat detects in terms of memory. Currently at 82920 Mb free when the heavy work file is opened. 90089 Mb of free memory on a free start.

I would like to know if anyone else ever managed to export/import a mesh from 3dCoat at over 30 million triangles /15 million polygons.

And also if there is a solution for these issues I am running into.

Thanks,

Amir

I had to create a new account since the 1st one used my companies email.

I believe there are no NGONs on the mesh since it was created from a triangulated base mesh and then voxelized in 3dcoat.

I have already ran into the same issue before when working on another model a year ago.

Hi Carlosan,

Yes I have tried multiple versions of the beta releases.