3DCoat Forums

Cage mesh

Heath_3d

Hi Andrew,

Another feature that would be useful would be a "cage mesh" generator in retop. This is basically the idea that when you subdivide your retop you can generate a version of the un-subdivided mesh that will result in the same approximate vertex positions when subdivided in an external program as when subdivided in the retop tool. It's essentially the same idea as the cage mesh in Zbrush.

regards,

Heath

I'm new to this application, though I've been using ZB for a long time, so I'm not new to Digital Sculpting.

I've been testing out the V3 demo, and one thing that's bugging me a lot is sculpting only on a high resolution surface.

The lack of topology limitations is great, but I really miss the control of a lower polygon cage mesh to make large changes fast.

It's slowing my work flow dramatically so far. Something like an eye for example, using the wire frame with different levels in ZB, I can sculpt it in just a few minutes. Trying to do the same thing In 3DCoat has taken me over a half hour, and it's still not looking right. I normally rough out the entire head in that time.

Maybe if you don't have a low poly cage, there can be something like a (lattice = Maya) (FFD modifier = 3ds.Max) that can be created using the re-topology tools.

If I want to make a certain shape, like an eye. I can just draw the topology on the mesh and move the lines in to place by selecting and moving like traditional 3d applications, or painting with the brushes. Instead of having to do the entire thing with the sculpting brushes on the high res model.

A sub division toggle for that would be nice too.

A base mesh could be used like that too, and maybe have smart sub divisions as you alter the voxels.

Maybe this is something already in the program, I haven't found yet.

No doubt full SubDiv capability would be cool, but just a cage mesh for output to an external program would make me happy.