3DCoat Forums

Suggestions

Frankie

• Advanced Member

First I have to say I'm really impressed with this software, so thank you Andrew. I'm equally impressed by the rate at wich updates are released, amazing.

Here are my first suggestions after having played with the software for a week or so. Sorry if some are already implemented, as I'm still new to the software and I might have missed them.

1. Direct Cavity painting. Add cavity options in the pen parametters (to avoid the need to create a freeze mask first). One of the problem with the freeze is that you don't see the color of the freezed part anymore making it difficult to predict the result. This would be very useful when importing a sculpted mesh from say Mudbox to paint only color on 3DBrush.

2. Offset UVs command (to easily correct seams of tiles). Similar to the offset texture option in photoshop.

3. Tile in symetry modes (so when the brush goes beyond borders it wraps automatically). Similar to Maya's Paint Effect (in canevas mode).

4. 64 bits version (currently almost impossible to work in resolution above 2k as it reaches quickly the 2GB limit). This is utterly important to me :)

5. Support for 8K textures when there's enough vram on the graphic card, and obviously on a 64 bit machine.

6. Save preferences option. For instance, I prefer working with the pressure only affecting depth of the brush and change radius with keyboard. However when I start the program, it goes back to the pressure affecting both radius and depth by default.

7. New/Close file.

Thanks again.

1. What is cavity painting? You can paint cavity using CTRL. May be you mean something else?

2. There is Offset command for plane in "Commands" menu

3,4,5,6 - ok, now have in plans

7. Now when you will import new object, the scene will become clear and new object will be imported. Soon merging with new objects will be implemented.

• Advanced Member