3DCoat Forums

AO and curvature map question

krynoid

I'm relatively new to 3D Coat and I've got a noob procedure question.

I've got a high poly model right now that I'm ready to try painting it. I only intend to do still frame renders of it and it's not going into a game engine so I thought it didn't make sense to go through all the hassle of UV unwrapping it and making a low poly, since it looks like I can paint right onto the high poly.

The only issue is that when I've tried running the AO and Curvature calculations they take an unbelievably long time. By 'long' I mean I let it run for a couple hours and it's still spinning. Would unwrapping and baking normals make this part of the process faster or am I just stuck waiting for it to take as long as it takes?

I let it run for three days, then I had to cancel it. Are there any recommendations for ways to speed up the process?

For instance, if I did go through all the work of UV unwrapping and making a low poly, or decimating the model would that help (high poly has 98,000,000 tris currently)?

Can I decrease the light count for the AO calc (using the default of 2048)?

Basically, what is the greatest factor influencing the time it takes to run the calculation?

The normal workflow is this:

1. make the hp model
2. make the lp model (you just need the geometry to keep the silhouette and the shape)
3. unwrap the lp model
4. baking
5. texturing

The baking process transfers information from the highpoly onto the lowpoly.

Your high poly model is just a piece of information for your low poly. all you take from the hp are the baking maps like normal/ao/curvature etc.

You only need an unwrap of your lowpoly. you take later on your highpoly and your unwrapped lowpoly and bake maps out of it. 

source...

Factor influencing the time, high poly for sure.

• Advanced Member

Hi Krynoid,

Without seeing you model....

98 million polys is ridiculous!