3DCoat Forums

Normals / topology questions

rosikowski

Question

Hi guys, so, something has changed, either in 3dcoat or in New unreal engine 5.2 ? suddenly my normal maps are not making the model look better (I`ve always used retopo via decimation / then bake normals) then I was texturing it, and the Normals always made my model look sharper, better. now its something like this :
image.thumb.png.e19b9d40c27859ea43141c296ab5d312.png

at least thats what I thought it was, in blender it did look better but with simple light scenario (local point light, no ambient light) but when I turned on nice hdri I had noticed the same weird shading on the edges, of orange parts on the top of the turret (Im no 3d artist, Im a concept designer, so Im gueassing its becouse for the dirty Topology?)

image.thumb.png.6c41ef907d4c0210b76975416e146f67.png

So, this ugly shading only occurs when the light is really low, on top light scenario its all fine 
image.thumb.png.ee418fb9a96c6872b9d17e91d9fbbec3.png

but then when I render the same object (retopoed mesh, with textures, it looks beautiful no matter the angle) ( sorry for the long post, actually at this point Im not sure whats my question :D, well, the question my be, How to improve on stuff like that, I should learn more about topology right ? xD or just render my concepts in 3dcoat)
EDIT:
any tips on how to quickly do RETOPO so the unreal engine will render it nicely ? maybe I can render High Poly mesh and use nanites ? but then how to texture it ?)

image.thumb.png.1d36d1e92222b51d6cc443f1442c1175.png

Edited by rosikowski

14 answers to this question